I can’t believe how fast the past few months have gone by!  My life has changed a lot since I graduated, but I’m seeking some even greater changes now.

Currently, I work retail at Nordstrom Old Orchard.  I work in the designer sunglasses / accessories department and have been there since the end of June.  It’s okay.  I’d really prefer to get my foot in the door of the advertising industry and begin my career.  Commission-based retail is tough, and can be a real downer right now because of the economy.  At least I’ve received excellent training that has not only applied to my position at Nordstrom, but has included skills that will be helpful in future endeavors as well (i.e. customer service training, diversity training, loss prevention/theft, and general experience with promoting myself professionally).

While working at Nordstrom, I haven’t had much free time.  It took me the while summer to put a creative  resume together, and I recently ran it by a Marquette career counselor and put the final touches on it.  So now all that’s left is to start applying for jobs, and boy is it intimidating!  I’m constantly trying to network with Marquette alum and family friends.  I’ve applied for only a few jobs so far, and feel I still need to get my portfolio online.  It’s a job to get a job, and I just wish I had more time in my week.  However, the holiday season is drawing near and I’m afraid I won’t get much done for another month or so.

All in all, landing my first “REAL” job has been the big goal.  It’s my next step in life and I’m looking forward to it.  Although I’m overwhelmed and frustrated with the job search process, the best I can do is put in as much effort as I can and hope that I land that first job sometime in the near future.